Student Profile: Igor Dombrovsky

I am a first year PhD student in Comparative Literature & Literary Theory at UPenn. I am interested in 19th and 20th century literature and aesthetic philosophy in particular. The presence of important French thinkers (eg. Lefebvre, Derrida, Deleuze, Foucault) and some of my favorite writers (eg. Tolstoy, Hugo, Sartre) on the syllabus brings me great joy. I view this not only as a Revolution course but as a 19th and 20th century course in intellectual history with the question of revolution at its center. I anticipate this class to be rigorous and stimulating – perhaps a class akin to what I myself may like to teach in the future?

While I do not have a specific project envisioned for this course yet, I would like to focus on the link between literature and revolution while reading in preparation for a literary theory exam at the end of the year. I would like to consider how “revolution” has liberated and fueled writing and how writing has created “revolution.”

Pleased to soon meet all of you,

Igor

This entry was posted in Student Profile. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

